Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
English in Finistere
7 juin 2017

LINKING WORDS

téléchargement

Utiliser des mots de liaison permet de construire des phrases plus complexes et d'exprimer ses idées de manière plus précise.

Leur maîtrise est donc essentielle dès le niveau B1, et d'autant plus pour bien rédiger.

voir dossier complet: ici

Faux amis

Actually = an fait

Currently = actuellemnt

Eventually = au bout du compte, finalement

So far = jusqu'à maintenant (+ present perfect)

 

Addition

Morevover, What's more, additionnally = De plus

Besides = par ailleurs

Indeed = en effet

 

Contraste

However, Still, Yet = cependant

Unfortunately =malheureusement 

Whereas, while = alors que

 

cause

because, as, since = parce que, comme, puisque

because of, for = car

 

concession

(Al)though, even if, even though: bien que, même si

despite, inspite of = malgré, en dépit de

 

consequence

As a consequence, as a result, so = an conséquence, donc

 

but

in order to, so that = afin que ou pour que

 

Time

as = comme

when, while= quand, pendant que

as soon as = dès que


 

Here are some exercises about link words

Exo 1 : choose the best linkword :

Fortunately, Despite, Indeed, Actually, so far,

So, Although, Yet, so far

  1. ______________I was abroad when the Icelandic volcano erupted.
  2. ______________I know several people who were stuck abroad.
  3. ______________the ash cloud, I wanted to travel. Still, the airline won’t let me board!
  4. ______________I’ve worked overtime, they won’t hire me.
  5. ______________I don’t want to stay in this firm. I’d like to discover new companies before launching my own.
  6. ______________I want to open my own agency and hire and fire the people I want.
  7. ______________instead of working for people, I would make others work.
  8. I’ve never worked with foreign countries__________.
  9. I’ve never heard of it____________.

 


 

 Exo 2: choose the best linkword :

  

So, well, indeed, actually, currently, whereas, while, of course

 

  1. _________ I am working with the operating service, __________ usually I work in the order service.
  2. -What will you do next next year?           -____ I don’t know.
  3. I may continue my studies, ____________ it depends if I have my exam or not.
  4. -Do you like your job?      -Yes,_________.
  5. I prefer flying __________ my friend prefers the train.
  6. -Do you like ferries?         -No, _________ I’m often seasick.
  7. He was late _______ he missed the train!

 

  


 

Here is a video to listen to conjunction!

conjunctions: and, or, but, so, because and although

We use words called conjunctions, like and, or, but, because and although, to join two parts of sentences. Conjunctions can be used to give more information, give alternatives, give reasons, give results or give unexpected information. We use and, or and but to connect two parts of sentences which are similar in grammatical status.

http://learnenglishteens.britishcouncil.org

 

Correction exo 1 : 1. fortunately/ 2. yet/ 3.despite/ 4. although/ 5. so/ 6. actually/ 7. inded/ 8. so far/ 9. so far

Correction exo 2: 1.currently- whereas/ 2. well/ 3. of course/ 4. indeed /5. while/ 6. actually/ 7. so

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Archives
Publicité